### <u>McSherrystown Borough Council</u> <u>Reorganization Meeting Minutes</u> <u>Tuesday January 2<sup>nd</sup>, 2024, 6:30pm</u>

**<u>CALL TO ORDER</u>**: The Borough of McSherrystown held its reorganization meeting on Tuesday January 2<sup>nd</sup>, 2024 at 6:30pm in the council chambers at 338 Main Street, McSherrystown, Pennsylvania with Mayor Catherine Hagerman presiding. Mayor Hagerman opened the meeting with the pledge of allegiance and invocation. The following council were in attendance.

Robert Niedererr Joseph VonSas Donna Spangler Timothy Klunk Thomas Snyder Stephen Pascoe Keith Lewter

STAFF PRESENT: Jessica Freiert, Solicitor Luke Gibson

## NOMINATION AND ELECTION OF PRESIDENT

Mayor Hagerman called for nominations for the seat of Council President. Councilmember Spangler nominated Keith Lewter. Councilmember VonSas nominated Robert Niedererr. There being no further nominations, a roll call vote was taken.

Roll Call vote for the nomination of Keith Lewter were as follows: Donna Spangler - Yes Joseph VonSas - No Keith Lewter - No Robert Niedererr - No Stephen Pascoe - No Thomas Snyder - No Timothy Klunk - No Roll Call vote for the nomination of Robert Niedererr were as follows: Donna Spangler – No Joseph VonSas - Yes Keith Lewter - No Robert Niedererr - Yes Stephen Pascoe - Yes Thomas Snyder - Yes Timothy Klunk – Abstain With a majority vote, Robert Niedererr was named McSherrystown Borough Council President.

# **NOMINATION AND ELECTION OF VICE PRESIDENT**

Mayor Hagerman called for nominations for the seat of Council Vice President. Councilmember Pascoe nominated Joseph VonSas. Councilmember Spangler nominated Thomas Snyder. Councilmember Snyder declined the nomination. There being no further nominations, a roll call vote was taken.

Roll Call vote for the nomination of Joseph VonSas were as follows:

Donna Spangler – No Joseph VonSas - Yes Keith Lewter – No Robert Niedererr - Yes Stephen Pascoe - Yes Thomas Snyder - Yes Timothy Klunk – Abstain With a majority vote, Joseph VonSas was named McSherrystown Borough Council Vice President.

## **NEW BUSINESS:**

### APPROVAL OF 2024 MEETING SCHEDULE AND TIME

The time and place for the regular McSherrystown Borough Council Meetings was set for the second and fourth Wednesday of each month at 7pm in the Borough Chambers located at 338 Main Street, McSherrystown. A motion was made by VonSas. Seconded by Klunk. Roll Call Vote: Donna Spangler – Yes, Joseph VonSas – Yes, Keith Lewter – Yes, Robert Niedererr – Yes, Stephen Pascoe – Yes, Thomas Snyder – Yes, Timothy Klunk – Yes.

### APPOINTMENT OF AUTHORIZED SIGNERS

A motion was made by VonSas to approve President Niedererr, Vice President VonSas, Councilman Pascoe, and Councilwoman Spangler to be authorized signers for the Borough. Seconded by Pascoe.

Roll Call Vote: Donna Spangler – No, Joseph VonSas – Yes, Keith Lewter – Yes, Robert Niedererr – Yes, Stephen Pascoe – Yes, Thomas Snyder – Yes, Timothy Klunk – Yes.

### APPOINTMENT OF SOLICITOR

A motion was made by Pascoe to appoint Luke Gibson with Salzmann Hughes, P.C. as the Borough Solicitor. Seconded by Snyder.

Roll Call Vote: Donna Spangler – Yes, Joseph VonSas – Yes, Keith Lewter – Yes, Robert Niedererr – Yes, Stephen Pascoe – Yes, Thomas Snyder – Yes, Timothy Klunk – Yes.

#### APPOINTMENT OF ENGINEER

A motion was made by VonSas to continue services with Barry Isett & Associates as Borough Engineer. Seconded by Pascoe.

Roll Call Vote: Donna Spangler – Yes, Joseph VonSas – Yes, Keith Lewter – Yes, Robert Niedererr – Yes, Stephen Pascoe – Yes, Thomas Snyder – Yes, Timothy Klunk – Yes.

End Minutes.

Respectfully Submitted, Jessica Freiert Secretary/Treasurer